Teaching artist fellows are centered in strong artistic practice and share their skills and knowledge of their artform with students and the community. They are hired on a three-year contract and are responsible for standards-based instruction of up to five classes each year throughout Duval County. Each fellow manages a special project specific to their skillset and career goals and receives benefits such as higher education opportunities through a partnership with Jacksonville University, teaching certifications, specialized advanced training or opportunities specific to their field. 

Devon Schlegel – Art Therapy
Alden Road Exceptional Student Center
Oak Hill Academy
Palm Avenue Exceptional Student Center

Joshua Stone – Strings
CAP String Orchestra
Central Riverside Elementary School
Enterprise Learning Academy
Hogan-Spring Glen Elementary School
John Love Early Learning Center, Music and Math

Katie Swider – Theatre
Kirby Smith Middle School, Theatre and Civics
Rufus E. Payne Elementary School
Spring Park Elementary School, Theatre and Language Arts
Venetia Elementary School

Teaching Artists

CAP employs Florida certified teaching artists chosen for their accomplishments and expertise in their artistic field, ability to communicate with children and depth of experience in the classroom. Teaching artists have an average of more than 15 years’ experience as an artist and/or educator, and 80% possess a bachelor’s degree or higher in their arts discipline. They serve as positive role models who mentor students, guide them in building character and self-esteem, enhance academic success and teach the foundations of visual or performing arts. 

Dance & Nutrition

Cenetta Baker – Dance
John E. Ford Pre K-8 Montessori School

Mary Bishop – Nutrition
Ruth N. Upson Elementary School

Paisley Gibson – Dance
Brentwood Elementary School

Josh Mora – Dance
Highlands Elementary School

Kalie Scharpf – Nutrition
Brentwood Elementary School

Ashanti Williams – Nutrition
Highlands Elementary School
Ruth N. Upson Elementary School

Myerly Wolff – Nutrition
John E. Ford Pre K-8 Montessori School


Aaron Plotz
Parkwood Heights Elementary School

Ariadna Perez
San Jose Elementary School

Aquila Tamaseu
Brookview Elementary School

Michelle Taylor
Hyde Park Elementary School


Marielle Erskine
Beauclerc Elementary School

Valarie Esguerra
Andrew Robinson Elementary School, Theatre and Language Arts

Visual Arts

Mariah Cagle
Chaffee Trail Elementary School
Mayport Elementary Coastal Sciences Academy

Kris Campbell
LaVilla School of the Arts

Sarah Crooks
Hyde Grove Early Learning Center, Visual Arts and Science

Amanda Holloway
James Weldon Johnson College Preparatory Middle School

Erin Kendrick
Brentwood Elementary School, Visual Arts and Reading

Kimberly Miller
Youth Crisis Center

Tony Rodrigues
John E. Goode Pre-Trial Detention Facility

Crystal Rodriguez
America’s Little Leaders